top of page



St. Mark’s standard curriculum is “The Creative Curriculum for Preschool” by Dodge, Colker, Heroman.  The curriculum is child-centered and culturally inclusive emerging from the individual interests, needs, growth and development of each child.  The Developmental Domains that are integrated into the curriculum include: Physical, Emotional, Cognitive, and Social Development.

St. Mark’s Curriculum children will learn to:


  • Honor the individual strengths and needs of the young children

  • Encourage young children to value the process of learning

  • Value diversity; all young children to value the process of learning

  • Value diversity; all young children are capable of learning

  • Children demonstrate individual differences in development

  • Development and learning are embedded in culture; young children learn by doing

  • Learn through play

  • Learn to play in learning centers in every classroom which includes, art, science, blocks and building, dramatic play, manipulatives


Large and small group play that allow children to learn from each other each classroom takes weekly field trips related to curriculum such as but not limited to


  • Public libraries/Barnes and Noble

  • Public Parks

  • Indian, African American, Hispanic Cultural Centers (Events)

  • Fire Stations/Police Station

  • Aquarium/Botanical Gardens

  • Museums

  • Annually 2 family field trips to the Zoo (Spring), Pumpkin Patch (Fall)


National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) Accreditation:
St. Mark’s is a five star nationally accredited program from National Association of Education for Young Children (NAEYC). NAEYC is the nation’s leading voice for high quality early childhood education for young children from birth through eight; promoting excellence in early childhood education.

High-quality programs provide a safe and nurturing environment while promoting the development of young children. NAEYC accredited programs show their quality by meeting the 10 NAEYC Early Childhood Program Standards, which are based on the latest research on the education and development of young children. All NAEYC accredited programs must:

  • Promote positive relationships fall children and adults

  • Implement a curriculum that fosters all areas of child development –cognitive, emotional, language physical and social

  • Use developmentally, culturally, and linguistically appropriate and effective teaching approaches

  • Provide ongoing assessments of child progress.

  • Promote the nutrition and health of children and staff

  • Employ and support qualified teaching staff.

  • Establish and maintain collaborative relationships with and use resources of the families

  • Establish and maintain relationships with and use resources of the community

  • Provide a safe and healthy physical environment

  • Implement strong program management policies that result in high quality service.


NAEYC Accreditation is valid for five years. During that period, programs make annual reports documenting that they maintain compliance with the program standards. All NAEYC accredited programs are also subject to unannounced visits by NAEYC assessors. For more information about NAEYC Accreditation, please visit the web site at


bottom of page